Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Logo engrave solidworks --> trotec

Logo engrave solidworks --> trotec

New to the forum. Hello all I have found some helpful information on this site but nothing that answers a very specific requirement of mine.

I am brand new to lasers and know very little about them. I own a small business operating a machine/fab shop. Our products are generally made from aluminum and typically have Type II anodize finish. We need to mark them with our logo and currently use an outside vendor for this process.

Just ordered a Trotec speedy 360/80watt C02 machine. Should be delivered in a week.

I am a Solidworks/Autocad guy with no experience with adobe photoshop or Corel or anything like that (prefer to keep it that way). The models of my products have the logo present as a sketch and "CUT" feature in Solidworks. Ideally, I would machine a fixture plate that can be laid on the laser bed so that a multitude of parts could be laid out very quickly and accurately and then use the Assembly drawing of this fixture to actually "print" the markings.

Does this sound possible? Anyone interested in sharing details on how to do this? Maybe create a new layer within the drawing and use the "hatch" tool to fill the logo outlines with solid color and then somehow ONLY print that layer?

I'll take some screen shots this evening to try and better explain requirements.

Photos of plan

So here are some pics.
    1. Product in Solidworks
    2. Array of product on a machined aluminum fixture plate
    3. machined fixture plate measures 24" x 12" so I made a custom sheet size in solidworks with those same dimensions and located the plate in the upper left corner. Then I created a new "Layer" called ENGRAVE and filled the logo in solid RED color using the hatch tool.
    4. Just a close up of what I did in the above step.

So am I on the track? Any words of wisdom would be much appreciated.