Thread: Purple heart and maple butcher block finish??

Purple heart and maple butcher block finish??

I am new to woodworking and am starting on my first "big" project, at least big for me.

It is going to be a butcher block coffee table made of Purple heart and either maple or ash.

As I am not very familiar with different kinds of finishing methods, I am looking for some advice on what you guys like or think would look good.
    I have been using Odies oil on a few projects and like the look.

I do not want to use the stain and keep the natural color of the wood and grain.
    I am considering using Odies oil and then doing a high gloss laquer.

Does anyone have any recommendations or ideas? What laquers have you used that you like? Should I use something under the laquer first?

Thanks all!

Nearly any finish should work for purple heart and maple. I personally like an oil finish such as "danish" oil, but most of my wood pieces are woodturnings.

Keep in mind that the purple color might look great at first but will probably turn to brown eventually, some quicker than others.

This might be useful:
    https://www.wood-database.com/wood-a...-exotic-woods/

JKJ

Quote Originally Posted by Nick Mazzino View Post
    I am new to woodworking and am starting on my first "big" project, at least big for me.

It is going to be a butcher block coffee table made of Purple heart and either maple or ash.

As I am not very familiar with different kinds of finishing methods, I am looking for some advice on what you guys like or think would look good.
    I have been using Odies oil on a few projects and like the look.

I do not want to use the stain and keep the natural color of the wood and grain.
    I am considering using Odies oil and then doing a high gloss laquer.

Does anyone have any recommendations or ideas? What laquers have you used that you like? Should I use something under the laquer first?

Thanks all!