Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Resaw fence

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Enfield, Connecticut
    Posts
    104

    Resaw fence

    I bave a Grizzly G1148 bandsaw. I plan on doing some resawing. Do I need a resaw fence (Grizzly makes one but not for my model, which they no longer make), or do I simply need a properly tuned bandsaw?

    If I need a resaw fence, any suggestions?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Lebanon, TN
    Posts
    351
    I don't have a Grizzly bandsaw, but do have a bandsaw with a OEM re-saw fence.

    I've just about got it tuned to the point where I have minimal drift when using the fence, but just prior to getting to this accomplished I came across the Carter AccuRight Magfence II. https://www.carterproducts.com/band-...d-saw-magfence


    I bought one of these and haven't used my OEM fence, for re-sawing, since.

    I also bought their F.A.S.T Fence Alignment System https://www.carterproducts.com/band-...nt-system-tool and pretty much use a combination of these, with their fence, to set my desired cut thickness.

    The Carter fence and Fence Alignment System also helped me dial out most of the drift in my bandsaw.

    I just re-sawed 120 3ft x 3.5"H x 1.125" into 3.5" x 9/16". Set the fence for the first cut and it didn't move throughout the entire process.



    I have no affiliation with Carter Products, just a happy customer.

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by ChrisA Edwards; 10-21-2018 at 6:49 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    6,081
    Blog Entries
    7
    I resaw with a normal height fence. I’ve resawn 19” wide material.
    Bumbling forward into the unknown.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Helensburgh, Australia
    Posts
    2,263
    Same here, I gave it a go to see if I needed a high fence and it saved me from making one.
    Chris

    Everything I like is either illegal, immoral or fattening

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    weaverville, ca
    Posts
    299
    i just added a taller piece of 3/4 melamine to the factory fence - no problems
    jerry
    jerry

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    9,494
    I use the standard fence for resaw.

    If you want more vertical support, attach a length of wood to the saw fence to make it taller........Rod.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •