Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spraying beginner - advice

Spraying beginner - advice

All,

I am a long time lurker, avid forum reader with modest woodworking experience (mostly furniture made from 3/4” red oak), who would like to get into spraying my finishes. 90% of my work has been covered with GFHP WB satin using bristle and foam brushes. I really like the way this material give a really durable finish and allows the quality of the wood to show through.

However, I am getting tired of ‘painting’ and would like to spray the GFHP. I have no experience other than using rattle cans, but wondered if you fine folks could point me in the right direction regarding equipment, options, must dos and do nots. For all intents and purposes, I plan to stick with the WB finishes.

I do have a small pancake compressor, but no more than 2.6cfm, so likely not usable as a source. Also I’d rather not spend hundreds of dollars, especially if I find out I am really poor at spraying!!

Thanks

Phil

You'll find that spraying water borne finishes (and shellac) is relatively easy to get used to. The one piece of advise I extend beyond choosing what equipment to use is that you should be prepared to practice a little. Yes, you'll use a little finish that costs a little bit of money, but it will pay for itself in the end.

Since you have a compressor that's inadequate for spraying finishes and want to do things pretty economical, a lot of folks have spoken highly about the Earlex HVLP systems. Something like that might be a good place to start and if you start to stretch things further, you can then make an investment in a higher end system if you choose. I personally don't have experience with one of these because I do have a large compressor and use a modestly priced HVLP conversion gun with great results. I would expect you could do the same with something like the Earlex with the particular product you mention.
    --