Thread: Planer Advice needed

Planer Advice needed

I'm fairly new to woodworking, but feel confident in my abilities.

I currently have a Dewalt 735 with the Byrd Shelix cutter head. It produces good results, although board to board, it's not 100% accurate.

Now with that said, I am running 10ft lengths of 5/4 Basswood through it.

I'm making Planation shutters for about 12 windows in my house, so am planing a lot of rough sawn 5/4. I've run about 1000ft through it so far and it is so and tedious as most of the boards are 8" to 11" wide so I have to make multiple passes before i get a good surface.

I got permission from the wife to replace it. My budget is around $4K and I'm not really that interested in trying to find a used unit.

With my limited exposure to this hobby, I've been looking at Powermatic, Jet and Grizzly, although after doing a bit of reading, Hammer seems popular on here, but I can't find any pricing, so I don't know if that fits into my budget.

So far my #1 is the Jet 208 20" with helix cutter head, #2 is the Powermatic 15HH, the Powermatic 20" is $1000 more than the Jet, so is out of my price range.

I would really like the extra width capacity.

Whatever I buy, it will have a helix style cutter head.

Not that this makes a huge difference, but Powermatic/Jet are headquartered about 10 miles from where I live.

I do have 230V single phase in my garage.

Also, whatever machine I buy, it will be on a mobile base.

Thanks

Chris Have you looked at Woodmaster. There made in Kansas City. I have the 18'' planer-sander and it works great for me. Good Luck Mike O'Keefe

I spoke to a sales person from Felder about the A3-31. Delivered it's about $5K with the options I would like.

That puts it in the same ball park as the Powermatic 20"HH with the helix cutter head.