Thread: had a fowl intruder

had a fowl intruder

We have had numerous small birds hit windows in our house and then today this fellow made it right through a single pain window in a 3 season room. He was dead on impact. Appears to be some kind of hawkb1.jpgb2.jpgb3.JPG

Quote Originally Posted by allan kuntz View Post
    We have had numerous small birds hit windows in our house and then today this fellow made it right through a single pain window in a 3 season room. He was dead on impact. Appears to be some kind of hawkb1.jpgb2.jpgb3.JPG
    Bummer. I wonder if it's a young sharp-shinned hawk. But I'm not very good at id'ing hawks

70780511-1280px.jpg

JKJ

Looks just like one to me, John. We get those sometimes chasing the songbirds around the trees by our feeder (often successfully). Really long tail is perfect for steering through tree limbs quickly. He probably caught his own reflection while chasing something, would be my guess.

That's a shame.
    It might be too late, you would have had to have frozen it, but you can contact the DEP in your state and they may be able to give you the name of a Taxidermist.
    These birds are illegal to hunt in any state and are often very desired for dioramas and teaching aids.
    The only way they can get them is through accidents, like that one.
    Still, its a shame. It was a beautiful hawk. Probably chased a songbird into the window.
    "The first thing you need to know, will likely be the last thing you learn." (Unknown)

Allen, you might consider translucent bird stickers on your windows. We had the same problem, the glass was thick/strong enough that they didn't come all the way through but resulted in casualties. SWMBO bought stickers like these:

https://www.amazon.com/Decooo-be-Ant.../dp/B012GGQ0GI

There are of course other sources but you get the idea. The frequency of bird-glass impacts has gone way down since installing them.