Thread: DeWalt DW618 and Porter Cable Dovetail jig - box joints

DeWalt DW618 and Porter Cable Dovetail jig - box joints

As title says, I am trying to use the PC dovetail jig with the Miniature Dovetail Template to cut 1/2" x 1/2" box joints in 1/2" wood. I have a 1/4" diameter straight bit and am using the 3/8" O.D. Template Guide, all per the manual. The problem is when I tighten the template guide using wrenches (if I don't, within 10 seconds of turning the router on, the template guide becomes loose). When I turn the router on, the template guide must be rubbing up against the router collett (??) as I begin to see sparks. This doesn't seem to be that hard, so I must be messing something up. I am new at this, but have read both manuals and watched a few YouTube video's and it seems straightforward. Can anyone suggest what I might be doing incorrectly?

Without seeing what you're doing, the first thing that came to mind when you said the collett may be coming into contact with the template guide is the router bit is too deep into the collett.

If that's not it, can you post some pictures of your setup?
    “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness..." - Mark Twain

Kathleen