Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pricing pens

Pricing pens

I am about to try and assemble my Grizzly T25920 - 12" x 18" Variable-Speed Wood Lathe to learn pen turning. I was strongly advised by a local pen crafter to not sell Slimlines for under $25 because that was the normal minimum price in this area (Springfield, Mo). So that as a guide How much should I ask for Cigar pens? I only have the two styles in different metals no fancy kits like gear shifts, bullets etc . As I said I am new to this and have only turned 2 pens with help and these were pre drilled and the tubes already glued so these will be my first from start to finish.
    20180805_211844.jpg

If you have any craft shows coming up in your area i would goto one and see what others are selling them for. Craft shows can also be an inspiration to find other things to make that sell as well. This time of year i invest more time making ornaments then anything else for craft shows.

I've seen elegant pens offered at a craft fair for $60+, shape, styling, wood and finish all excellent. Don't know how many they sell at that price or if it would be appropriate in your area.

I've made a bunch of pens but only under duress! (I don't enjoy it much). Never tried to sell one - generally only make them when a kid or teen wants to "make" them for presents. We mostly used exotic woods - cocobolo, kingwood, tulip, etc. I've had people try to buy my samples, though!