Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: LV Combination Plane

LV Combination Plane

Last week I decided to upgrade my Small Plow Plane to the Veritas Combination Plane. After a short deliberation the SPP went on Kijiji and in a few days was gone. Yesterday, I picked up the Beast. My first impressions are very positive, the CP has its own character, it's larger and feels more solid than the SPP. Don't get me wrong, I loved the SPP, but there is something to the CP which makes me hold it and look at it even more.... I didn't get a chance to use it yet, as we had some people over last night....
    Being an engineer, I appreciate the workmanship and the accuracy of micro adjustments for depth stops and a sub fence. The SPP feels just great in my hands, the balance seems to be excellent. Anyway, today, I am going to try it and perhaps put together some short review.
    Just a couple of questions:
    The instruction does not mention shaving deflectors... for tongue cutters, should shaving defectors be used? They come supplied with cutters (for SPP ONLY?).... There is no issue with jamming? Would one would even be able to install it in a threaded mechanism for the depth stop?
    My second question: for the rabbeting across the grain (dovetail's tail board), I should deploy one of the scoring spurs, just like i would in case of dados, correct?

Question 2: yes.

Question 1: no deflectors needed.

Regards from Perth

Derek

Thank you for clarifying.

First rabbet, not as clean as I expected, most likely due to incorrect deployment of a spur...
    Please notice that the spur is already damaged ?!?! After 5" in a hard maple.....
    Am I doing something wrong?
    Grooving works very well, just like with the little brother....

IMG_7580.jpgIMG_7581.jpg

Wojciech, I found that the tips of the spurs I have also chipped off. Rather than attempting to regrind them the same way, I rounded mine. They work well this way ...

Regards from Perth

Derek