Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Value of 12" Oliver 166BD

Value of 12" Oliver 166BD

Considering upgrading my DJ20 with this 12" Oliver from a local pro wood shop.

Serial # seems to date it to the 1930s. Does not have the clamshell cutterhead. 3 phase motor. Still not sure on HP or if its original motor.

As far as I'm told, it's been maintained well and performs as it should. Looks great. 3 phase for me would mean a VFD or a motor swap (would rather do VFD if possible.)

What range would you guys value this machine at?

I'm not that experienced with super old arn, but have always heard Oliver jointers being praised. Anything in particular I should know about this model / era? What size motor(s) were OEM from this vintage? Any potential issues with hooking up a VFD? The jointer is currently under 3 phase power.

Also: does anyone know how much it weighs and have a link to overall dimensions? Having a hard time finding that info on the web.

Thanks!
    Last edited by Phillip Mitchell; 09-05-2018 at 8:36 PM.

I won't begin to guess on price since the condition is so much of that but here is the pdf of the sales cut sheet which gives weights and dimensions for the 166 varieties.

http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/609/968.pdf
    Of all the laws Brandolini's may be the most universally true.

Deep thought for the day:

Your bandsaw weighs more when you leave the spring compressed instead of relieving the tension.

If it’s a direct drive model you will need a VFD. If not you could consider a motor swap. You may need new pulleys to match up. That’s not a big deal.
    Don

I paid 2500 for my 166bd that was built in 1960.
    No broken or missing parts. There was one bent t-handle on the fence that I straightened.
    Good luck
    Aj