Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tung oil finish

tung oil finish

I am looking for a nice soft finish for some chairs I am making. 1/3 tung oil, 1/3 watewrlox original sealer/ finish and 1/3 mineral spirts has been suggested to me. This sounds like a nice finish for my walnut chairs. Any help would be appreciated as I am very new to finishing.
    Thank you in advance!!
    Jeffrey
    If no one will ever see it, all the more reason to make it right

I use that finish quite a bit, but I substitute satin spar varnish for the waterlox. It leaves a beautiful finish that is silky smooth. I sand to 400 then I wet sand with 600 grit. Usually three coats is all I use. Then I buff it out with my beall buffing system. Love the finish.
    Another plus, is that it is easily repairable if there is damage to the finish.
    In the long run, I do not know if it will be as durable as a poly finish, but I do like the look and feel.
    My Dad always told me "Can't Never Could".

SWE

Blog Entries
    Waterlox is already a blend. If you are familiar with it I would just use that. If you want to use your own blend (I do almost exclusively) I would avoid tung oil due to the long cure time. Do not confuse "tung oil" which is pure tung oil, with many finishes marketed as a "tung oil finish" which are blends.

For what it is worth, I have taken to using colorants with walnut even though I avoid colorants in general. Walnut lightens as it ages and I color it to stay the same color as freshly oiled walnut.

GnG Low CoD (286).jpg

Since you say you are new to finishing I can give you an easy but, durable finish that is easy to apply. Mix Watco "dark walnut" finish with mineral spirits, BLO and varnish in a 3:1:1:1 mix. I like Cabot's gloss for the varnish. Apply this with rags or paper towels so that the entire surface is wet. Wait 20 minutes and then wipe it off.