Thread: Current Project - Refinishing staircase

Current Project - Refinishing staircase

I like seeing everybody else's projects so I thought I would load my current one and a recent one to help explain. I am not good with images and I think the finished staircase, if the title appears the entry stairs, will be rotated. Sorry about that. They are done. The other picture with the pine paneling is the current project, the stairs in my Great Room.

The GR stairs is a much smaller project. They were framed correctly but the treads were stained dark (they are oak) and needed refinished. I used my Bosch DEVS1250 sander to remove the finish (Fein multi-master in the corners) and then refinished the treads with 4 coats of Parks polyurethane. The risers and skirt boards used to be the same color as the paneling. I've gradually changed the trim in the house to white so I changed these too. It took a coat of primer plus two coats of semi-gloss but, as you can see, they are now white.

I did not get my balusters on order soon enough, however. I had paperwork to do this weekend anyway. But they should arrive Friday. I drilled the holes today. The old balusters were wood and I want iron. They were also spaced 9.5 inches apart - much too far. So I will put one new one between each of the old ones. The holes for the wooden balusters were too big for the iron so I cut off the ends of the wooden ones and used construction adhesive to glue them into the holes to plug them. Then I drilled the holes for the iron. Worked fine. I will use the caps on the end of the iron balusters to hide this fix.