Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Looking for a Martin sliding tablesaw

Looking for a Martin sliding tablesaw

I am thinking of buying a sliding table saw and have looked at several brands. I have also read posts of people suggesting the Martin Brand. As a hobbyist, I can not afford a new Martin, but would like to find a resource for used. Most of the used are listed in the EU. I am trying to find a newer saw in 7-10k price range. I appreciate any information or suggestions.

Thanks,

Ash

Sorry, you will not find a late model Martin Slider for that price. I am an Altendorf fan and owner, and the best deal I saw on a late model was $25k at an auction for a 10-year old saw. You will need to look at the models previous to the LCD controllers for your price range, and am estimating you are in the 20-year old range. 20-year old Altendorf saws are going for $8-10k with no LCD controllers on them--completely manual or possibly a motor control with digital readout if you are lucky. If you want a newer saw, look at SCMI. The Nova 400 is just above your price range and is very good for the money. The sliding table is fantastic.

People/businesses that spend $35k and up on new saws are serious buyers and will not likely sell their machines unless circumstances force them too; thus, you will have difficulty finding one for sale.

-Greg Stahl
    Last edited by Gregory Stahl; 07-24-2018 at 11:50 AM.