Thread: stop warping?

stop warping?

I'm new to woodworking. I acclimitised my wood to my workshop environment for a week, then planed and sanded my wood. At this point it was flat. A few weeks later it is slightly warped. It went from being perfectly flat on a table to not being flat.

Is there something I can finish planed & sanded wood with that would stop it warping? I'm assuming I need to moisture lock the board essentially to stop the warping.

I'm keen for the wood to look and feel as natural as possible !

When wood is left laying flat on a surface, only one side gets air. If the wood is not in equilibrium with the environment, one side will gain or lose a little moisture, but the other side cannot. This causes wood movement, in your case, warp. Never leave a board laying flat on a table, floor, etc. with just one side exposed to the air. It needs to be stored where it can get air on both sides, or where neither side can get air, as in flat stacking boards. Just be sure to cover the top boards in the stack with scrap or nurse boards to keep them covered. Finishing the board without it being stable with the environment will only lead to more problems.

Apologies I hadn't meant to give the impression that I had stored it lying flat, It wasn't.

Wood naturally gains and looses moisture as the humidity changes in the environment.
    Wood that is not quite dry may warp badly as it dries.
    Wood that was air dried outside can warp as it dries in a less humid environment.
    Wood that was kiln dried can warp as it gains moisture in a more humid environment.
    Boards that are milled in a unconditioned shop then moved into a conditioned space can lose moisture and warp.
    Larger boards will in general warp more.
    Some species of wood are more stable than others.
    Boards with straight grain warp in different ways than those where the grain curves or runs at an angle, either across the face or through the thickness.