Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Planer dust collection

Planer dust collection

I'm looking for a dust collector that will handle my 18" Oliver planer, Delta DJ20 and future 24" to 36" drum sander. I want some flexibility as to their location and each will have cast aluminum manual gates with drop down hoses from a 14' main duct mounted 13' above the floor of this level. Each is new to me so I'm not sure what to expect. Thinking 8" main with 6" drops reduced accordingly at each machine. Are cyclones sized the same as a bag or canister system? Any suggestions on size or type will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Ron, all machines are sized the same way

1) determine how much flow you need at each machine

2) layout the ductwork on a drawing and determine the static pressure loss

3) look at the performance curves for the collector and determine if it can do the job

It doesn't matter which type of collector it is.............Rod.

I'm not an engineer and I could do that if I knew how much flow that Oliver requires. Is there a chart somewhere that would tell me that? I'm not terribly concerned with static pressure loss as the main duct will be no more than 14' especially if I get a system that will fit in the attic and all of the drops will be done in 45's coming directly off the main.

Are the 5HP Clear Vue Systems worth looking at?

Yes. They are one of the best for a home shop. They are a licensed version of Bill Pentz’s design. His site has a lot of information you should read if you haven’t already.

http://billpentz.com/woodworking/woodworking.cfm
    Last edited by Peter Christensen; 07-12-2018 at 6:41 PM. Reason: Add link.

Air handling systems website gives you info to figure out a system. Also a book by Sandor Nagyszalanczy, "Woodshop dust control'' will give you all the info you need. I used this book to figure out my own system, specifically collector size and duct sizing and layout for efficiency,my system works well. Hope this helps, Mike.