Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Dining table advice

Blog Entries

Dining table advice

I am new to woodworking, about six months deep, and I am going to build a dining table for my family. I just finished this table for someone else as a practice exercise. It started as rough lumber from the local hardwood seller. Made from poplar, it’s roughly 60x20x30. The joinery is just pocket holes as I feel to green to attempt mortise and tenon with my experience level and tools I own. The person I am giving it to is using it’s a counter, if anything. Any advice or questions are appreciated. Thank you.

As long as they can't be seen, or are filled, there is nothing wrong with pocket screws.
    Poplar though is very soft and won't hold up well as a table. Neither is it terribly attractive.

And make sure you account for seasonal wood movement.

Start with a good set of plans. There are subtleties to design, joinery and proportion that its best to follow an existing tested design than to wing it or modify. What I keep finding out, is when I start adjusting the plan, that there usually was a reason why it was designed that way in the first place.

Quote Originally Posted by Wade Lippman View Post
    Poplar though is very soft and won't hold up well as a table. Neither is it terribly attractive.