Thread: sharpening punched saw plate question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

sharpening punched saw plate question

How different is sharpening a punched plate compared to sharpening one already sharpened? I am pretty new to saw sharpening and would like to make a carcass / tenon saw from tgiag but they don't come pre sharpened. Took a class and have watched videos and practiced on some panel saws I bought just for practicing on.
    Last edited by Lee Schierer; 06-11-2018 at 4:12 PM. Reason: fixed the title

Steven,

There is a pretty big difference. On a saw already sharpened, you are removing only a very small amount of metal as the fleam (assuming it's a cross cut) is already established. On a newly cut saw, you first need to shape the teeth as if you are filing a rip saw, then set the saw, they file in the fleam.

Interesting fact, the angle that teeth are cut is not the same as the file angle which I never understood. It's a few degrees narrower, so the teeth are always taller than they will be in the end. About the only thing that retoothing is good for is giving you regular spaced teeth and a straight toothline (or curved if a breasted saw is your goal).

ok, thanks. I'll check with my teacher and see if he takes side jobs, lol

actually think I'll just get this veritas set

http://www.leevalley.com/us/Wood/pag...884,68511&ap=1

Quote Originally Posted by Steven Lee, NC View Post
    actually think I'll just get this veritas set

http://www.leevalley.com/us/Wood/pag...884,68511&ap=1
    If you said what your goal is in another thread, I missed it. Sorry.

But for general purpose use and flexibility, I think this:

Veritas Joinery Saws

set will be more flexible and cover more uses. (It's also a traditional collection of sizes.)

After watching his videos I got both of these books from amazon as used books and want to give some of the projects a try. Currently only have panel saws and a dovetail saw.