Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bookshelves...What Kind Of Paint?

Bookshelves...What Kind Of Paint?

I'm building a set of book cases to be installed, kinda built in. Anyhow, I've only ever used clear finishes on my projects, so when the wife said she wants them painted a color, it threw me. I don't know what type of paint to use. I have a gravity feed, compressor type HVLP sprayer that I use for clears. For colors, all I know about is rattle-cans and latex...sad, huh. Don't know whether she wants a clean paint job or that used furniture type finish. Help, please!

I'm not an expert at painting, but I can recommend against latex paint (too soft for furniture).

I've done a couple of quick projects for my son with General Finishes milk paint.
    It sprayed very well with an earlex HVLP sprayer. (*)
    I know I added the General Finishes High Performance (water-based poly) as a topcoat
    on at least one of the projects; I don't recall any more if I did it on all.

(*) -- but do watch the ambient temperature. Too cold or too hot can be a problem.
    And one of my attempts to pretend the earlex was an airbrush and paint a fade wasn't entirely successful...

Of course, another option is to look up hydro dipping :-)

Matt

I've sprayed Benjamin Moore Advance with decent results after thinning 10-12%. When I lived in California I sprayed General Finishes White Enduro Poly (urethane-acrylic blend), tinted, on many cabinets with excellent results but it's pricey. I've got a color job coming up and I'm going to try Emtech EM6500 acrylic laquer....good reviews and much lower cost than GF Enduro. https://www.targetcoatings.com/produ...astel-lacquer/
    Scott Vroom

I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.