Thread: Stupid bark...

Stupid bark...

Tried my hand at a nested NE walnut set today, which I’ve never tried before.

Things were going swimmingly until I went to finish cut the outside of bowl 3... and half the bark came off in several pieces. Tried to glue it back on and then the other side came off. Oh well. Finished it bare.

I finished with 4 bowls. If I remove the bare one they still look okay because I can center the middle one. My spacing wasn’t great anyways, too big of a gap between 1-2.

It was still fun to get 4 bowls from what would have previously only been 1.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Where did I put that?

Oh well, it happens.
    Three out of four aint bad lol. The three you got look really nice!

Has the wood been sitting long. Of course some bark just won't stay on some woods. That's why I developed a way to use sponge painting to decorate the lip of bowls. I can simply carve off the back and add whatever colors I want.

Tree fell in October. Log section cut in March and split just before turning.

I know what I did wrong. I went back to shape the outside after it had been cored. I was taking very light cuts and I had applied CA glue but I think there just wasn’t enough supporting the bark.

I’ve got another log that I cut off just a week or two ago. I’ll try again hopefully soon.

Walnut bark is diffidently worth keeping. The chances of keeping the bark are much better if you cut from the rim into the bark when shaping the outside of the bowl. Bark is much better supported. Cutting from the foot into the bark can lift the bark from the wood. Shape the bottom area of the bowl, but don’t make finish cuts into the bark. Cut into the rim passed the bark area, reverse directions and blend the middle exterior as usual. I immediately use super glue on the exterior of the bark after cutting from the rim down. I posted a demo on YouTube showing how to cut natural edge bowls cleanly.
    Here it is.

https://youtu.be/4bYWW4rXaYQ