Thread: Sharpening Jigs for turning -- Varigrind or Tormek jigs

Sharpening Jigs for turning -- Varigrind or Tormek jigs

Hello,

I'm a long time woodworker who is just starting out in the world of turning. And I'm looking for some advice on jigs(not machines) for sharpening my turning tools. I own a very nice bench grinder that is set up with two Oneway bases. Attached to one base, I use Oneway's tool rest, and attached to the other I use the Tormek converter(OWC-1) and Bench Grinder Mounting Set(BGM-100). This set up allows me to use all Tormek jigs. Until now, I've only used their Square Edge jigs for my plane and chisel blades -- it's a solid, easy to use jig that I've had a lot of success with.

As I said, I now need to purchase jigs for my turning tools and am presented with 2 options. First, are the Tormek turning tool jigs(SVD-186 and SVS-50.) Second, is the Wolverine Varigrind and Vee-Arm. Both of these routes seem solid. My grinder is already set up to use both. And they both look to be well made and relatively easy to use. So here's my question:

For those of you who have used both, which do you prefer. I know a lot of people that have used one or the other and that their impressions are generally positive. But I'd love to hear from those of you who have experience with both. Thanks so much for taking the time with helping me figure this out.

Best,

David

PS please keep in mind that I'm not asking for a comparison of which machine to use: Tormek vs. Bench grinder. I don't own a Tormek and don't want one. I love my bench grinder with CBN wheels and am just curious about the different jigs.

Thanks.

Hi David,