Thread: Question about spraying Polyurethane with HVLP

Question about spraying Polyurethane with HVLP

I'm pretty new to the whole HVLP spray finish scene but I picked up a used Sprayfine fairly cheap. I've used it to spray some typical Minwax Polyurethane and got good results by thinning it slightly but it takes so long to dry. Is there a trick to getting it to cure faster? More thinner or should I try a different product?

Standard varnish, which is what you're trying to spray, is designed to have a long cure time. That's so it stays fluid while you're brushing it on. For spraying, typical finishes cure much more quickly. I mostly use General Finishes Enduro Clear Poly. A coat of it will cure to the touch in ten minutes or so, and cure enough to be sanded in an hour or two, depending on temperature and atmospheric humidity.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Jansen View Post
    I'm pretty new to the whole HVLP spray finish scene but I picked up a used Sprayfine fairly cheap. I've used it to spray some typical Minwax Polyurethane and got good results by thinning it slightly but it takes so long to dry. Is there a trick to getting it to cure faster? More thinner or should I try a different product?
    Varnishes "dry" in two phases: First the volatile components (including any thinner) evaporate leaving the resin/oil solids behind, and then the solids cross-link (chemically bond) to form a solid film. The second part is what takes so long, and mucking with the volatiles by adding thinner etc won't do a thing to change it.

What you want here is finish that quickly cures to a point where it can be handled/recoated/sanded and doesn't attract dust. There are two basic ways to do that:

1. If you want to stick with oil-based varnishes, then step up to a catalyzed finish of some sort. The catalyst greatly accelerates the cross-linking process.