Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommended Material for Name Tags

Recommended Material for Name Tags

I will be using the 40W VLS 3.50 from ULS to produce metal name tags for law enforcement, and I am having a bit of trouble determining what type of material to use for the name tags. I am very new to laser engraving so any assistance is helpful. It is my understanding that certain types of metal work better than others, and that some wouldn't work at all. Would using Cermark be a good option depending on the material? I have also looked into using Alumamark but the material seems to be too thin, but I am open to suggestions if it would be the best option.

The tags will be gold and 3/4" x 3". Any ideas or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Joe

Joe
    Welcome to SMC.

The metal name tags used by police officers around here are not engraved with a laser but with a rotary type machine that routs out enough of the brass to permit a color fill, usually a black enamel.

Cermark is not likely to do the job as it doesn't adhere well to brass.

Your next option is laminated plastic, which you can get in a bright gold finish and laser engrave to black.

The other thing common to police and military name tags is that they tend to use the pinch clasp fasteners so you'll need to check that out too.
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300, 80 watt
    Gravograph IS400
    Woodworking shop CLTT and Laser Sublimation
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7

Joe
    I produce an awful of name badges for regional companies & Foundations; mostly using LaserMax plastics with magnet backings; have never had a complaint.