Thread: wood identification

wood identification

Hey folks. I got some lumber out of my grandafathers old barn, which i'll hopefully be dismantiling entirely over the summer. I'm a bit of a novice at wood identification when it's rough sawn and aged like this. The woods here in nova scotia mainly consist of white spruce, red and white pine, maple and birch. the odd cedar and oak.

Any idea what type of wood this is? wood.jpgwood2.jpg

Spruce or pine- I'm guessing spruce. And a beautiful piece at that. Nice consistent growth rings.

Blog Entries
    I would lean towards spruce, although it's hard to tell with just a photo. It is a beautiful piece of spruce. If you have a whole barn full, that's going to be a nice lot of wood. I would love to have that for building kayaks- either strip built, or skin-on-frame, and wood surfboards.

Thanks folks! Lots of nice lumber from 1x6 up to 6x6. Just a big job to tackle by myself so I have to be careful. Was hoping for oak but I didn't think it was.. Thanks again!

Can you plane is a little and repost a photo?

That end grain definitely does not look like any oak I've seen. If it's from a barn, there's a chance it's from a previously prevalent species than the common trees you might have now.

I don't have a planer and this particular board is about 10'. I've got different planes but I only really use my block plane. If I ever get around to cleaning up my #7 i'll repost a photo for sure.

Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Mosher View Post
    Hey folks. I got some lumber out of my grandafathers old barn, which i'll hopefully be dismantiling entirely over the summer. I'm a bit of a novice at wood identification when it's rough sawn and aged like this. The woods here in nova scotia mainly consist of white spruce, red and white pine, maple and birch. the odd cedar and oak.