Thread: first successful dovetail

first successful dovetail

So while I feel I have been gaining proficiency in a number of skills, dovetails seemed to allude me. Not that I have done a bunch but I have probably done 10-12 corners with really cruddy results, to tight in some spots, gappy in others. What drove me nuts it that in general I think I am decent at sawing, this just was not working though.

This morning I watched Frank Klausz's video on you tube though and decided to try pins first. This was first shot with no marking other than the baseline and done in less than 10 minutes. Think I can work with this and start building the skill. For some reason this method feels 100 times more intuitive than tails first that I had been trying. The baseline needs a bit of clean up for final fit, but this is not bad for right off the saw and no pairing (given that it is my first try at this method anyway).

Blog Entries
    Howdy Brandon, those look better than many of my early dovetails.

Pins first or tails first, which ever works best for you is the best way.

One thing that may improve your dovetails is to make the base line just a hair further from the edge than the thickness of the mating piece. This will cause the pins and tails to be proud a hair. It is easy to plane or pare this down to a smooth surface.

In some cases it actually can enhance the looks of a piece to have the tails and/or pins left proud by 1/16" or more and rounded over. It can add a tactile feel to a piece.

jtk
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

I totally agree with that. In this case I had been planing my stock smooth on the earlier attempts and my gauge was set for that, on this one it was purely an experiment I didn't think would work so I didn't bother. Also there was still a tiny bit of a belly on these from chopping which made it more apparent.