Thread: Basic troubleshooting question

Basic troubleshooting question

I am new to laser cutting. I put together a laser cutter from a kit, and now I am learning how to use it. I tried to cut a rectangle from cardboard. The short sides, moving along the y axis, cut through nicely. But the long sides, the x axis movement, are not cut through all the way. Any ideas of what I should check? Or other information I didn't provide that would help?

Pics and more info about your machine would help.

Julia

welcome to SMC. The kind of machine and your location would be helpful information.
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300, 80 watt
    Gravograph IS400
    Woodworking shop CLTT and Laser Sublimation
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7

Diode blu-ray by any chance? if so the beams from those are dreadful multimodes and have an equally terrible beam profile.Not unusual to find they cut better in one direction than the other (it's cause by the shape of the spot)
    You did what !

Hi and thank you for the welcome!
    The cutter has a CO2 40w tube (Yongli), and I am in Switzerland. I'll post pictures in the next post after I figure out how to do that.

I think I figured out how to insert pictures. The first picture is the back of the cardboard. Only two lines cut through. The second picture is the front. The third is the cutter.

DSC_0007.jpgDSC_0006.jpgDSC_0008.jpg
    Last edited by Julia Bertschinger; 04-21-2018 at 5:14 AM. Reason: Fixed typos

Mirror or optic alignment, and what power level are you using?
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa.HVAC/R , Cloudray Galvo Fiber , -Windows 10

20% power.
    The problem might be that the mirrors are not quite aligned?

Quote Originally Posted by Julia Bertschinger View Post
    20% power.
    The problem might be that the mirrors are not quite aligned?