Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time at the "Finish" line

First time at the "Finish" line

Hello all

Ok, first off, I'm a total novice at this.

I am making a computer keyboard frame from maple (the outside frame) and 1/16" (3-ply) aircraft grade birch ply (for the actual keyboard overlay, the part with all the holes for the keys.)

I'm using alcohol based dye and I did some practice pieces for both the maple and birch .
    Sanded both to 220, pre sealed them with a thinned (50-50) oil based varnish, let it dry for 24 hours and then applied the dye.

Both practice pieces came out well, very little blotching and the different woods actually came pretty close in color similarity.

I want to use an aerosol lacquer (Watco) as a finish. ( I don't have anHVLP sprayer)

So my questions:
    Does lacquer "give" at all or will it crack? The birch ply will experience some flexing (maybe 1/16" vertical displacement) when in use. Note: the keys are not attached to the birch at all, and don't come in contact with it in any way, but fingers do occasionallys lip off keys and may land on the birch overlay .

Should I spray on a first coat of Shellac (like Zinnser), andlet it dry , before spraying on the lacquer? I've watched a few you tube videos and that is how those demo folks did it.

Or, would it be better to use a [oil-based] poly-urethane varnish? If varnish is the way to go, for a small piece like this would wipe on application be preferable to brush or spray?

Thanks much for any help or advice.

You'll be fine with the spray bomb lacquer for your application. (Just spray it outdoors for safety) Build up your finish with many light coats rather than spraying it on heavy. There's no need for the shellac here.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

OK....but what about the flexibility of the lacquer, the birch will be flexed a bit during use. Will the lacquer crack?