Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Jointer recommendations?

Jointer recommendations?

I searched through a bunch of old threads, but didn't really find what I'm looking for, so figured I'd ask.

Anyway, I currently have a G0490X on back order, but I'm getting tired of the waiting game. The impatient person that I am, wants something asap. What would you guys recommend?

I'm not overly concerned budget wise, so speak from the heart (and experience). I've been checking out the Laguna and Powermatic 8" parallelogram set ups. I have zero experience with either company, but
    I've heard some negative comments about Laguna (mostly customer service related). Laguna's main office is about a 10 minute drive from my house, so I plan on popping in and having a chat.
    Powermatic seems solid. I'm open to hearing about any manufacturer, strengths or weaknesses.

What do you guys think? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

I would buy a 12 inch combination jointer/planer.

Hammer/Minimax/Felder.

I gave up on my 8" jointer about a decade ago, went with a Hammer A3-31. Saved shop space, had more capacity, better features.

regards, Rod.

I have to echo Rod's recommendation, but if you really want to go with the 8" and you are that close to Laguna where you can slap folks up-side their heads if there's any issue...
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Check into both Baleigh and Oliver. The Baleigh has the largest fence/table of all the 8" jointers, is in stock and offers a helical head option. I have an old Powermatic 6" machine and love it but need to get a bigger machine someday and the above machines are my favorite choices right now.

Blog Entries