Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Issues with Waterlox

Issues with Waterlox

Morning all,

I am using Waterlox on some walnut shelves and need a little guidance as I have never used Waterlox before and my overall finishing experience is in low supply.

I've wiped on two coats thus far and am getting some, for lack of a better or appropriate term, shiny spots. The picture below is after the second coat. I put it on last night around 6 so it's been drying for about 18 hours.

tJ28yqE.jpg

Normal? Abnormal? All help is appreciated.

Thanks

Blog Entries
    The figured area is irregularly porous and will soak up finish irregularly. It is hard to tell from the pic but, it looks like I would have done some more surface prep prior to application. Once the surface is sealed by initial coats, it will start to build. If the surface is pretty irregular relative to the finish's film tension characteristics it can take a lot of coats. If you are after a more natural appearance, a sealer of very thin shellac can be your friend prior to applying your finish. I will let others chime in as you are past the initial application and we hve some bright folks here.
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler

Tim,

Glen is on target This looks pretty normal to me for 2 coats on walnut. I don't know what appearance you are seeking. Let each coat dry until it sands well and keep going until you get what you want. Sanding with fine, e.g. 320, grit will dull the shiny spots so that the finish looks a bit more uniform. If you want to fill the pores it may take LOTS of coats.

Doug

Thanks for the tips, fellas. Finishing is not my strong suit!

I use Waterlox quite a bit, that is normal for the first few coats from my experience. As the finish builds it will even out. I usually allow 24 hours between coats to be sure it is fully dry.

As others have said, normal.