Thread: What is the smallest footprint for a tables saw in a shop?

What is the smallest footprint for a tables saw in a shop?

Hey all,

So I've been getting a lot more serious with woodworking, and really wanted to expand my current work area so I can work year round without having to worry about rain/cold days ruining progress. For the most part I am a neanderthal woodworker, but I do like to use a table saw in my arsenal because it is just so versatile, and speeds up projects greatly. My current saw is a Hitachi C10RJ which has been great thus far because I need to move it in and out of my basement when I want to work, so the mobility of it has been a godsend lol.

Anyways, my new workshop area will be an expansion of my laundry room in the basement. Since my basement is finished, this is the only indoor area of my house that I can work in year round. My laundry room is currently 6ft in length, and 8ft wide, so I plan on expanding it by cannibalizing a section of my finished basement. I'll be increasing the size to 11ft length by 8ft in width. The only power tools I'll be using is the table saw (with dedicated dust collection), router table (which will just simply be put on top of the table saw whenever I need it, and use its dust collection), and cordless drill/impact drivers. The rest of my tool lineup is all neanderthal.

I've attached a mock-up of how I envision it now (The dash line across the width is the current size of the laundry room). The largest sheet good I'll dimension is a half sheet of plywood since I can't transport full sheets. The table saw will be built on a stand with casters so I can move it around if need be. Also my workbench will be on casters so I can position it as an out feed table if needed. Do ya'll think this setup will work for a part-time woodworker?