Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: At first I thought encoder strips but now..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Suwanee, Ga
    Posts
    372

    At first I thought encoder strips but now..

    I can't upload a video of it happening because of company policy, but sometimes when I start a job, it will run it normally for a bit, then suddenly take these really long pauses at each end. Sometimes all I have to do is stop/reset, but other times it makes me restart the whole machine to even get the laser to recognize that I'm giving it a command, just completely becomes unresponsive. Any ideas? I make sure encoder strips are clean each morning and initial startup is fine, so I'm a little confused here.
    Also sorry for poor explanation, if someone needs clarification please ask. TIA!
    Epilog Fusion M2 40 Watt CO2 Laser

  2. #2
    Do these long pauses happen when you are raster engraving, or vector cutting? Is it still firing when it pauses?
    I read recipes the same way I read science fiction. I get to the end and I think, "Well, thatís not going to happen."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Suwanee, Ga
    Posts
    372
    No, it is no longer firing when it is paused, and I have vector turned off in my driver since AI was giving me issues with it. Just Raster engraving.
    Epilog Fusion M2 40 Watt CO2 Laser

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Suwanee, GA
    Posts
    3,341
    Can you send me the file you are trying to run?
    I have done so much with so little for so long, that I can do almost anything with practically nothing...

    Trotec Speedy 400 80 watt 8/2015
    G. Weike LF-30, 30 watt galvo fiber - 1/2016
    G. Weike LF-30, 30 watt galvo fiber - 3/2015
    Fargo HDP5000 Card printer


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Suwanee, Ga
    Posts
    372
    It's an illustrator file, will you be able to open it?
    Epilog Fusion M2 40 Watt CO2 Laser

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand (shakey town)
    Posts
    113
    Hi Chase,
    Happens to me too, i was told that it could be an issue with buffering, and to pause the job, unplug the USB and plug it back in
    again then continue the job, it hasn't happened for months now, it is very random sometimes 2 or 3 days in a row
    then months before it happens again.
    Epilog Helix 50W, Epilog Fusion 40 75W, Tekcel Router, Taylor Hobson Model D & K
    Roland SP300, Dalgren 2516i

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Suwanee, GA
    Posts
    3,341
    I have a Mac at work with Illy and can also try to import into Corel. If you can, save as a version 8.
    I have done so much with so little for so long, that I can do almost anything with practically nothing...

    Trotec Speedy 400 80 watt 8/2015
    G. Weike LF-30, 30 watt galvo fiber - 1/2016
    G. Weike LF-30, 30 watt galvo fiber - 3/2015
    Fargo HDP5000 Card printer


  8. #8
    When the machine starts stalling out, what is your machine's display doing, if anything? Such as, if it's an LCD, does it lighten up and get hard to read? Other types of displays (color) might not be easy to tell...

    What I'm driving at, is if you've noticed anything that may indicate a low-voltage condition, which will affect the readouts...
    4 LASERS -- Gravograph LS900 -- GCC Explorer -- Triumph 1390 -- Triumph Galvo Fiber
    10 CNC ROTARY ENGRAVERS -- NH C2000 -- NH V3200 -- NH V3400 x2 -- NH V3400CL rotary -- NH V5000 -- NH V5000XT x2 -- Gravograph IS400 -- Gravograph IS7000
    Vinyl: NH 20" vinyl cutter
    Extraction: 3 -HF 'green' blowers, 1 HF 'big' blower
    4 -air compressors, 3 -drill presses, 3 -grinders, 3 -shears, 4 -saws, mini-lathe


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Suwanee, Ga
    Posts
    372
    Quote Originally Posted by vic casware View Post
    Hi Chase,
    Happens to me too, i was told that it could be an issue with buffering, and to pause the job, unplug the USB and plug it back in
    again then continue the job, it hasn't happened for months now, it is very random sometimes 2 or 3 days in a row
    then months before it happens again.
    Ok thank you! I'll give it a shot.
    Epilog Fusion M2 40 Watt CO2 Laser

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Suwanee, Ga
    Posts
    372
    Quote Originally Posted by Kev Williams View Post
    When the machine starts stalling out, what is your machine's display doing, if anything? Such as, if it's an LCD, does it lighten up and get hard to read? Other types of displays (color) might not be easy to tell...

    What I'm driving at, is if you've noticed anything that may indicate a low-voltage condition, which will affect the readouts...
    It appears to do nothing abnormal. Now, however, I can't center engrave. Any time I try to the carriage goes all the way to the bottom right of the machine, farther than I can even put it with the joystick. What a way to start Wednesday.
    Epilog Fusion M2 40 Watt CO2 Laser

  11. #11
    It's sounding like you may have a bad stepper/servo driver, assuming servo's have drivers similar to steppers (I don't really know)

    The reason I asked about the screen: Twice since I've owned the GCC, the last time about a month ago, the display seems to get lighter. This is followed by the machine growing a mind of its own, acts erratic, head goes where it's not supposed to go, then eventually it just does zip. First time it did this I volt tested every place I could volt test (I found a great circuit diagram for this machine online)- everything checked out perfectly...? I've mentioned in the past that 'electronics spray cleaner is your friend'... it is-- I unplugged the machine, grabbed my trusty can of CRC e-cleaner, and proceeded to unplug every plug and IC chip I COULD unplug, sprayed both connections and re-connected. Every last one... Plugged the machine in, and it worked perfectly. That cleaning lasted almost 2 years, and had to do it again last month. I have no clue which connection is the culprit, but I'm betting it's just one plug or chip that's carbon tracking for whatever reason and creating a voltage loss that shows up on my display, and obviously to the motherboard and/or the main controller.

    In the 37 years I've been running machines connected to computers, at least 98% of all the machine issues I've ever had was due to a faulty plug-in connection, usually fixed with electronics cleaner
    4 LASERS -- Gravograph LS900 -- GCC Explorer -- Triumph 1390 -- Triumph Galvo Fiber
    10 CNC ROTARY ENGRAVERS -- NH C2000 -- NH V3200 -- NH V3400 x2 -- NH V3400CL rotary -- NH V5000 -- NH V5000XT x2 -- Gravograph IS400 -- Gravograph IS7000
    Vinyl: NH 20" vinyl cutter
    Extraction: 3 -HF 'green' blowers, 1 HF 'big' blower
    4 -air compressors, 3 -drill presses, 3 -grinders, 3 -shears, 4 -saws, mini-lathe


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Suwanee, Ga
    Posts
    372
    Quote Originally Posted by Kev Williams View Post
    It's sounding like you may have a bad stepper/servo driver, assuming servo's have drivers similar to steppers (I don't really know)

    The reason I asked about the screen: Twice since I've owned the GCC, the last time about a month ago, the display seems to get lighter. This is followed by the machine growing a mind of its own, acts erratic, head goes where it's not supposed to go, then eventually it just does zip. First time it did this I volt tested every place I could volt test (I found a great circuit diagram for this machine online)- everything checked out perfectly...? I've mentioned in the past that 'electronics spray cleaner is your friend'... it is-- I unplugged the machine, grabbed my trusty can of CRC e-cleaner, and proceeded to unplug every plug and IC chip I COULD unplug, sprayed both connections and re-connected. Every last one... Plugged the machine in, and it worked perfectly. That cleaning lasted almost 2 years, and had to do it again last month. I have no clue which connection is the culprit, but I'm betting it's just one plug or chip that's carbon tracking for whatever reason and creating a voltage loss that shows up on my display, and obviously to the motherboard and/or the main controller.

    In the 37 years I've been running machines connected to computers, at least 98% of all the machine issues I've ever had was due to a faulty plug-in connection, usually fixed with electronics cleaner
    Thank you for your suggestions! I had purchasing get me some of that cleaner you suggested and it's working just fine now.
    Epilog Fusion M2 40 Watt CO2 Laser

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •