Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Basic safety question: lathe position

Basic safety question: lathe position

Creekers, is it unsafe to have a lathe too close to a wall, for potential bounce-back if the workpiece breaks up? I am relocating my midi-lathe in my shop, and my first choice was in a corner up against a concrete wall. The spindle would be about a foot from the wall, so with workpiece thats max 10" diameter, is that too close? I couldn't find a reference book that addresses that. As usual, I didn't think of that potential problem until I already moved it.

Thanks for input.

Well, I am no ballistics engineer but it would seem to me that wood hitting a concrete wall will lose a lot of energy on contact. That said. . . .

Mine is close to the wall too, what is more of a problem is that there are times it would be easier to cut from the opposite side of the lathe, like when hollowing. Bending over and peering into a deeper shape gets old real quick. Not to mention that sometimes I cannot get the correct angle for the tool. Just today I was sitting there looking at it debating moving it out about a foot. My shop is pretty small but efficient. Maybe too efficient.

Not as a safety issue, but I like to have enough clearance behind the lathe to use a full size gouge with handle straight to back like entering a bowl for undercut or non-skid entry. I have made/bought short handled gouges to use on club lathe with plexiglass shield preventing using full size bowl gouge. I would opt for 2' from spindle as a minimum clearance if possible.

I like the lathe close to the wall

Quote Originally Posted by Stan Calow View Post