Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Compact Tractor

Compact Tractor

Did not want to hi jack other tractor thread.
    I am at the point in life where a compact tractor would make things a little easier for my 2 1/2 acres.
    It would be a want but not a need for sure. For that reason I cant justify buying a new unit.

Just for example, this is the size I would be interested in. I am not set on any one brand.
    http://rktractors.com/products-tract...k-tractors.php

Just looking for some pointers in buying a used unit.
    I am concerned about "Gray Market" units. I don't know enough to avoid one.
    I have no knowledge on 3 point hitch equipment. What works with what tractor etc.... Does one brand of belly mower fit any brand tractor.
    What to avoid, what to look for etc....
    Last edited by Dave Lehnert; 03-02-2018 at 5:55 PM.
    "Remember back in the day, when things were made by hand, and people took pride in their work?"
    - Rick Dale

Dave, hang out on Tractor .net for a while and read. Particularly read the complaints.

I have a NH 45hp, but would like to buy a small one like you showed as a yard unit. I want to keep the big one for unloading/loading trucks and other heavy chores, but for the garden and yard cleanup a little one would be nice.

Its just me but I stay away from the off brands on anything like a tractor that will be around for a long, long time. My concern is parts. I also try to stay away from the obscure low volume models, again for parts reasons. For example the JD1025 that is mentioned in the add you posted is fairly common, has a good reputation, and John Deere has been around a long time. Kubota B&L series are around used a lot, and quite often with low hours as homeowner units.