Thread: Hall Trees

Hall Trees

A conversation a while back with my chiropractor revealed that he sometimes also adjusts dogs and my 9 year old has had back issues for almost 2 years. After a couple of adjustments my buddy now thinks he's about 2 years old. My chiropractor told me to bring him anytime I thought he needed adjusting. Since he doesn't charge for this service and he knew I am a woodworker I asked if there was anything I could make for him.

He asked for a couple of hall trees. So I came up with this design and made them out of red oak. The trees will be sitting on carpeting but I also put mostly recessed silicon pads on the bottom in case they are ever used on a hard surface. The large "X" that makes up the bottom is removable via one long 5/16" lag bolt and four 3" deck screws. The black balls are inexpensive screw on machine lever balls. I had to flatten the threaded end and decided to modify the shiny surface with rough sandpaper to help keep coats from slipping off.

I hope he likes them. I'll be delivering them on Monday.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Looks like a great solution!
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Hundred years from now they will be in a museum, dated to 1960, and described as " Sputnik Inspired"

Very nice, John. Nice design and nice details.

5. These are awesome, and love the shepherd!!

Thanks Travis. My chiropractor also thought they were great when I delivered them last Monday. My 9 year old shepherd is my buddy. Coincidentally, we both have back and arthritic issues in the same locations. Just getting old I guess.

Quote Originally Posted by John Ziebron View Post
    Thanks Travis. My chiropractor also thought they were great when I delivered them last Monday. My 9 year old shepherd is my buddy. Coincidentally, we both have back and arthritic issues in the same locations. Just getting old I guess.