Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Here we go again, cyclone dust collectors, and a new entry too

Here we go again, cyclone dust collectors, and a new entry too

Hi All, I'm new to the Sawmill Creek community and just returned to the US from many years in Munich, and building a new house with a new WW shop. For dust collection, I'm considering 3HP Grizzly cyclone (HEPA), Laguna 3HP (HEPA) and a newbie about which I've not heard much, the (Chinese) Harvey G700 "Dust Processor." I don't need to run multiple machines at once but there will be some long metal duct runs, so inches of water SP and "real CFM" are important, also flitering the smallest (baddest) particles is a priority. I don't care about big collection capacity, I'll empty as often as needed. Quiet is a big bonus but I mistrust the dBA claims.
    I have heard many questionable remarks about Laguna quality and customer service, and found lookalikes on Alibaba which offer to slap on Your Label. That's disquieting.
    Grizzly has a solid if not refined rep.
    The G700 "Dust Processor" has an intriguing design, but it's big, heavy, expensive and does not set its specs in familiar MERV, particle count percentages at 0.3 microns or other indicators which would indicate real CFM. The claimed 61dB at 3m would be revolutionary if true.
    After that long intro: anyone have experiences with any of these three machines, and especially the newbie? Like all of you, I want to make an informed choice but comparisons are sometimes difficult, and real world reliability is not published.