Thread: New fella here ... fiber laser questions...

New fella here ... fiber laser questions...

New guy here.

My son purchased a 30w Chinese fiber laser and is having a great time figuring out the nuances of it.

He's lasered various things around the house just to get a feel for settings, etc.

But he (and I ... and I have many years experience programming CNC, co2 lasers, etc.) is flumoxed by some of the hatch settings (EZCAD2).

It seems that the laser will repeat a hatching process endlessly, without stopping, unless manually stopped.

He's tried a zillion hatch settings and imports, using ezcad to create text and laser directly, imports from Inkscape, Corel, Illustrator, etc.

If he doesn't hatch text, it does what is expected, runs once or as many times the loop is set for.

Add a hatch, and the thing will run til it is manually stopped.

Any ideas.

Thanks and best regards,

Mike Tiehen
    Omaha, NE USA

Screen shot of settings? Obviously continuous isn't checked?

Blog Entries
    Yep! I'd bet money Continuous IS checked. (next to Mark F2) button on my version of the software. Mark Selected is useful as well as Show Contour for red lighting image before you engrave.

The manual isn't really that bad. Sit down and read it while working with laser. And Do multiple searches here. Even stuff from 2012 had good info for these things.
    Woodworking, Old Tools and Shooting
    Ray Fine RF-1390 Laser Ray Fine 20watt Fiber Laser
    SFX 50 Watt Fiber Laser
    PM2000, Delta BS, Delta sander, Powermatic 50 jointer,
    Powermatic 100-12 planer, Rockwell 15-126 radial drill press
    Rockwell 46-450 lathe, and 2 Walker Turner RA1100 radial saws
    Jet JWS18, bandsaw Carbide Create CNC, RIA 22TCM 1911s and others

Quote Originally Posted by Nick Hale View Post
    Screen shot of settings? Obviously continuous isn't checked?
    Continuous is not checked.