Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: $25 Disston saws

$25 Disston saws

I was at an antique mall and came across a tool booth. No chisels, lots of rulers, a couple dozen planes and saws at least 30 of them all of them vintage most had makers marks and many Disstons. The saws had been cleaned and sharpened a few had minor pitting none were cracked. They were priced $20-$30. On eBay it looks like saws sell for $60-$300.
    I didn't know what too look for and didn't want to be impulsive so i passed. Can i go wrong paying $25 for a hand saw? Generally speaking is every vintage Disston better than any new saw from a big box store?
    I guess i need a rip saw and a cross cut saw and a few smaller saws

Blog Entries
    I have old Disston saws. They are excellent saws. I rejuvenated two of them. One was without a handle. I'd say $25 is a bargain.

Im not an expert on Disstons, but picked up several recently that I have been doing some rehab on, and one that was professionally done.

I would buy a Disston at that price easily but look out for the following:

1) Sight down the tooth line, perfectly straight is best, slight curve is ok, kinks are not. They can be fixed but that is above my pay grade, I would buy a kinked one to practice hammering, but only at heavily discounted price and knowing that it was for practice and would likely be a wall hanger after my attempt.
    2) Close to being jointed, by this I mean if you set it tooth down on a bench that the tooth line is also straight in that regard, or close to it. I saw one once that had a 3/4 inch difference, to get it running you would have to file way down and recut teeth, again above my pay grade if worth it at all
    3) General condition of saw plate, does not have to be clean and pretty, just no deep pitting
    4) Handle tight and in good condition (how good is up to you, you can repair or replace but gets to be more work, discount accordingly)
    5) No or very few broken teeth, if any again discount accordingly