Thread: Read the directions stupid!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Read the directions stupid!

It's a man thing, right?
    For starters, I'm new to turning. Have watch videos and read all I could find on the subject and have asked a few questions here on SMC.
    Today I turned my first bowl and it was shaping up nicely. I put on my Nova cole jaws to finish the bottom. While cutting off the tenon, the bowl launched out of the jaws, hit my fluorescent light which exploded into a million and one pieces and pretty much made a mess of the shop.
    Fortunately I was no worse for wear. My face shield blocked any glass from hitting me.
    The reason for the above title is because I failed to read all of the instructions on the jaws or I plumb forgot what I read. First off, the jaws clearly state 600 RPM's. I was running at a little over 900. Number 2, the bowl has straight sides and did not have a negative flair on the lip.
    I now know that some of you turners will use a donut type chuck on some other type of compression clamp to solve this problem.
    I was very fortunate that the bowl was not damaged in any way that I can see. There was no catch to cause this, maybe just the two reasons I stated above.
    I wound up putting my tool rest close to the bottom of the bowl and also brought my tailstock in to prevent it was launching again.
    LESSON LEARNED!
    My Dad always told me "Can't Never Could".

SWE

I think you'll find that 600rpm restriction is just boiler plate for lawyers. Cole jaws are more for centering than holding. You risk damage or otherwise marring your bowl if you over tighten the jaws. Alot of folks use Saran wrap, tape, straps to "hold" the bowl while turning. Light cuts with sharp tools are a necessity. I quit using them once I learned to trust hot melt glue. I have a 19" disk of MDF on a face plate. Four or five dabs on the rim does great. I reverse chuck it to get the bowl centered.
    RP