Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hand plane

Hand plane

Hi I'm new to the creek so I will be asking several questions. I hope you'll bare with me. As I've been researching jointer I've noticed some people say that they use a hand plane to smooth their lumber. I've never used one. How can I learn that skill. Is there a book or DVD. Is there a certain YouTube video I can loom up. Which hand plane should I buy if I decide to practice that skill. Thanks guys

Quote Originally Posted by Brian Byers View Post
    Hi I'm new to the creek so I will be asking several questions. I hope you'll bare with me. As I've been researching jointer I've noticed some people say that they use a hand plane to smooth their lumber. I've never used one. How can I learn that skill. Is there a book or DVD. Is there a certain YouTube video I can loom up. Which hand plane should I buy if I decide to practice that skill. Thanks guys
    To get oriented I think you should look for "Coarse, Medium & Fine" an article Christopher Schwarz for Popular Woodworking mag. (Sorry, no issue number. I have it in a reprint.) It describes the strategy of using planes as a system for working wood from rough lumber to finished panels. Ah, searched and found it online.

Searching I find Kieran has written something similar on his blog Coarse, Medium, and Fine

That will get you started and once it puts things into context the other details & tutorials will make more sense.

Quote Originally Posted by David Bassett View Post
    ... should look for "Coarse, Medium & Fine" an article Christopher Schwarz ...