Thread: Delta 34-670 blade adjustment?

Delta 34-670 blade adjustment?

Okay so I just bought a cheap delta table saw off craigslist. It seemed fine when I was buying it but once I brought it home I noticed the blade and miter gage slots aren’t parallel. When I measure from the front and back of the table saw it’s off by a whopping 3/32”!! I’ve checked the owners manual on how to adjust this and all I could find was a small excerpt that claims it’s set parallel at the factory. On top of that, when I crank the blade to come back to be perfectly at 90 degrees, it’s short by about 1 degree. I followed the owners manual to adjust this but it seems like the threaded rod that the motor mounts too runs out of thread just shy of 90 degrees. It bottoms out and it looks like the previous owner must’ve tried cranking pretty hard because the side of the table saw housing by the crank looks slightly bent in. I’m not an expert but I would really like to make this saw work considering I’m a beginning woodworker and the price was too good to pass up (now I see why). Any and all suggestions would be very much so appreciated!!

Thanks! -Troy
    Last edited by Troy Behrens; 02-05-2018 at 9:47 PM. Reason: Tags

I not familiar with this saw, but I think that with most contractor's saw the trunnion are bolted to the bottom of the table. So if you loosen the bolts that attach the trunnions to the table, you should be able to move the trunnions until the blade aligns with the miter slot, and then tighten the bolts. It may take a couple of tries to get it just where you want it. There is probably a screw that can be adjusted to provide a hard stop an 90 degrees. You mention that the tilt shaft is running out of threads before the blade is at 90 degrees. Is there maybe a shaft collar holding the shaft in position that has slipped? That's my best guess without being able to see it.