Thread: Opinions on Shopsmith dust collector

Opinions on Shopsmith dust collector

I currently have no dust collection in my little 3rd car garage shop. I'm a hobby woodworker with mimimal dust collection requirements I'd say. However, I would like to do something. I'm going to have an opportunity to pick up a Shopsmith dust collector for around $75. At this point, I don't know the model but it looks like the DC-3300. I also don't know the exact age. I also don't know what if any attachments, hoses, etc it may come with. The current owner wants to move to larger diameter dust collection hoses in his shop and is going to get rid of this one. I understand the Shopsmith uses 2.5" hoses and connectors.

I have a contractor's 10" table saw, a Unisaw, two drill presses, three 14" band saws, 6" jointer, medium duty shaper (all Delta) and a Dewalt benchtop planer. I'm never using two machine simultaneously.

I'm wondering what folks think about this as an option? I see the low cost of the dust collector as a plus. However, I don't know if this is considered a reliable and good quality dust collector. I don't know if it will be sufficient for the machines I use. Additional pros? Cons?

What questions should I be asking when I take a look at it? What should I be checking for?

As always, I appreciate the good advice!

Mike

For $75, I would grab it...great price.

It takes normal 2 1/2" shop vac hoses. You can also unscrew a fitting in the front and adapt it to a 4", which I have done. I use mine primarily to clean the shop floor, and on tools like the router table. I have never tried it on a table saw, though.

It is a dust collector, which runs on high volume of air, not like a shop vac with high suction, little air flow. The thing I like best about it is that it is quiet when in use.

It is a small DC, as long as you don't expect it to perform like a big DC, you should be pleased with it. It is a high quality unit, costing $500 new.
    Rick Potter

DIY journeyman,