Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Running Windows software on Macintosh

Running Windows software on Macintosh

Hello all. I just purchased my new laser and am a Mac guy. Since the laser software will only run on a Windows OS, I need to either purchase a PC laptop, or install software to run windows on my mac. Has anyone here been running job software for their laser on a mac with windows software?
    I will be designing mostly in Adobe Illustrator I think.
    Any issues, or recommendations for which one to go with?
    Virtual Machine, Boot Camp?
    Thanks in advance for your input.

I don't have a laser so I haven't do this exactly.

But as a software developer I have run Windows on my MacBook for development work. You can install Parallels on your Mac and then run Windows in a virtual machine. Parallels is the original virtualization engine for the Mac OS and they are the best in my experience. You could also download VirtualBox which is free and do the same thing. VMWare will work too as will creating a separate partition for dual booting then boot into Windows or OSX depending on your needs.

I would strongly suggest using CorelDraw vs AI. It is a superior engraving program and there is unlimited help available here and online.

I have Corel on my Mac but do not use it to run my laser. I use Parallels.
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300, 80 watt
    Gravograph IS400
    Woodworking shop CLTT and Laser Sublimation
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7

Check and see if the laser software requires hardware access?

If so, then you'll need to use Boot Camp.

Possible to use an inexpensive PC?

I have only used Parallels and from my experience it served its purpose quite well. It was very convenient to have a functioning Mac with the virtual Windows machine running in the background and having the ability to switch back and forth between the two within a few seconds.