Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mr Heater Big Maxx shop heater

Mr Heater Big Maxx shop heater

I am considering using one of these as a heater in my new shop and am hoping someone has experience with one. I am also looking at the popular Modine Hot Dawg but it is 30% more expensive.

Opinions?

I just installed the Modine 30K BTU with sealed combustion in my shop. Love it. I know it's more expensive but I justified the price difference because I knew the local dealer, servicer and installers so it was worth it for me. Can't speak for Mr Heater because I have no direct experience with that brand. Good luck. Stay warm

I'm looking at the same unit, Mr. Heater. A friend of mine just installed one in his shop and is happy so far with it. Great price!

I had a Big Max in my previous shop. The shop was a poorly insulated pole building with no ceiling, 24 x 48', and the heater worked fine. I had it for ten years or so, if I recall, no problems at all. I only ran it when I was in the shop and it got the temperature up to comfortable in a half hour to an hour depending on the outside temp. I was in the Pacific Northwest, so it never got bitterly cold.

I had a contractor Cayenne heater installed in my current shop (in Northern Utah) as he was on-site installing the HVAC in the new house anyway. It's more expensive than the Big Max, and only available through wholesale distributors, but it works great and seems to be more refined than the Big Max. My new shop is about the same size as the old one, but much better insulated with R25 or so in the walls and R50 in the ceiling, and I leave the heater on 24/7, set for 50 at night and 59 during the day.

I installed a similar Sterling 30K 15-20 years ago. It's been trouble free so far.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney