Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tell me Why you like your Fret Saw or Block plane, Please

Tell me Why you like your Fret Saw or Block plane, Please

Hi Everyone, I have been thinking about Fret Saws and have read here and other places about how people really like your high end Fret Saws. I cant understand the difference between a $100 saw and a $20 Saw. Is it the ease of blade change, or the Stiffness of the blade because of the rigidity of the saw frame, I think it must be because of the rigidity..... but not sure as I am not an everyday user. Block planes I would like to understand if the ergonomic feel of the body is what is the Key or if the Blade adjustment is what is critical or is the l am a surgical Instrument maker by trade and a Mechanician for a University and I teach a Mechanical Design Class For Grad Students and one for undergrads. I am thinking of putting them on to the problem of Fret Saws and Block planes, So I would welcome your thoughts on Fret Saws and Block Planes. Thanks for any Help on this subject. -matt

I have and love the Knew Concepts frame and coping saws. Yet I will easily admit people did beautiful work before they were invented and continue to do beautiful work without them. Why do I like them?

1. Ease of blade changing. This means I'm more willing to tackle complex patterns.
    2. Balance between weight and stiffness. This means I can cut on the push if convenient.
    3. I like owning quality tools.
    AKA - "The human termite"

I have a Knew Concepts fret saw and use it for removing waste on dovetails. Works very well.

My favorite block plane is a Stanley 65 knuckle joint plane with a PM-V11 blade.

Mike
    Last edited by Mike Henderson; 01-10-2018 at 2:23 PM.
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.