Thread: Gluing up redwood for exterior table

Gluing up redwood for exterior table

Hello all I'm a newbie and have enjoyed reading the posts Now I have a question if you could help me on because I've heard conflicting answers. I have some beautiful redwood 1x12 s4s that my father had when I was a kid so it's close to 60 years old . Some white sap but most is heart wood I understand that redwood is one of the most stable woods and I'd like to make 2 picnic tables one 6 ft long and the other 4 ft round. The longer table I was thinking of having a 6 in wide frame similar to a door with rail, stiles and a center and in between 1x3. Question: is using 1x6 too thin and can I glue up the frame and just screw the field boards and space them quarter inch apart. Also another idea that I would like is a solid glue up with biscuits &/or pocket screws I hope you can understand my blabbering any help would be appreciated.. Ps it'll be outside Arkansas weather
    Thanks again

Blog Entries
    If you use screws, be sure that they are stainless or you will get iron staining.

1 x 6 is a little thin for a 6 foot span without have ribs under the span to help with stiffness.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

Thank you for the response I was planning to use cleats underneath . What I am concerned about is if I glueed up all or part of table will the redwood move to such a degree that I'll have cracking warping etc or is the redwood stable enough so it will not have such movement common in other woods.? Personally I would like to have a solid glue up because I don't like the gaps in the table. If I do a solid glue up and i attach the top to a metal base with screws would that be sufficient for any movement to prevent any warping? Thanks again and I hope I clarified things a bit