Thread: Converting vintage buffet to kitchen island

Converting vintage buffet to kitchen island

Hi This is my first post here although I read here frequently. I am not a furniture maker and my carpentry skills are modest but I have some experience with refinishing that has come from my trash to treasure thrift addiction.

I have a vintage buffet that I am attempting to convert for use as a kitchen island. This is a solid wood, probably maple (??), Conant Ball buffet that I picked up for $80. It measures 42wx22dx36h.
    IMG_7216.jpg.jpg IMG_7222.jpg.jpg

So far I have cleaned it and sanded the old finish off and filled the hardware hole on the drawers. I also cut the scalloped edge off the skirt for a more clean lined style. I have sanded the back and am planning to add some 1x2 trim pieces to the back and cut a skirt for the back of the legs to help the back look finished.
    IMG_111.jpg.jpg

My original intention was to end up with an island that is espresso color on the bottom via GF Java gel stain to match an existing table in the room and had planned to put a piece of either granite or butcher block on top until I realized how much that costs. So now I am trying to figure out what to do with the top so I can end up with a eating surface overhang.

My current plan is to attach a drop leaf extension to the back of the buffet, using hinges and spring lid support hardware. I was unable to find a piece of maple so I have a piece of poplar for the drop leaf. I am not sure what to do about matching the routed edge on the buffet with the trim and drop leaf. I don't have a router nor do I know how to use one.