Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Red Oak Table top - Linseed oil & epoxy

Red Oak Table top - Linseed oil & epoxy

We are just about done building a large table that is 4ft wide x 9 1/2 long for out fire house. It is made out of red oak. Our plan is to use boiled linseed oil on the base and top. Next our logo is going to be printed on the top with a large format printer. One of our members works for a the manufacturer of the printers and one of his customers will take care of the logo for us.

For the top coat we want to do an epoxy pour. I wanted to make sure its ok to apply the epoxy over the boiled linseed oil. This table will be in our day room at the fire house and needs to stand up to a lot of wear and tear.

Zach,

Do you mean that the logo will be printed directly on the wood top or will it be printed on a piece of fabric or paper that will be applied to the top? I have no experience with epoxy over linseed oil. Dewaxed shellac will pop the grain pretty well, especially if you darken it a tiny bit with Trans-Tint wood dye. I would think that the printing ink would adhere well to shellac, if you will be printing directly onto the top. Also, in my experience epoxy will adhere well to dewaxed shellac.

Doug

The issue with oiling a very open pore wood like oak is that you often don't get a good "cure" for the oil in those large pores. At a minimum, you'll need to seal it with the de-waxed shellac that Doug mentioned before doing the pour, You could also use a couple coats of a non-polyurethane oil based varnish to get the same "pop" as the oil and with a light abrasion get good adhesion from the epoxy. As always you should TEST every step on scrap of the same wood you'll use in your project to be sure you know what your end result will look like. Don't experiment on the actual project!
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...