Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: What Just Happened?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Punta Gorda, FL
    Posts
    2,080

    What Just Happened?

    I made a post with some pictures and everything was normal. No problems.

    I went to make a second post but when I previewed it I saw characters that were supposed to read 1/8" or 1/4" look like this:

    1/8”

    1/4”

    It also reformatted the paragraphs and turns everything, including images, into one long paragraph. I also lost spell check.

    The other thing that was different was with images. I clicked on the image icon and a different pop-up box appeared. It looked more like a full editor version, similar to what you'd see in forum code.

    I have the WYSIWYG enhanced editor checked. I closed my browser and tried it again. Same thing. I restarted my computer, same thing.

    It seems this only happens on this thread https://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthr...00#post2737200 Obviously, it's not happening here because contractions aren't being altered either.

    Any help?
    “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness..." - Mark Twain

    Diapers and Politicians need to be changed often... Usually for the same reason.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Punta Gorda, FL
    Posts
    2,080
    I'm not sure what happened but when I first went searching for the thread I wanted to update I did a search through the forum. That took me to a Google page where I clicked on the thread I was looking for. It was then I began to have the problems mentioned above.

    Just now I went through the General Woodworking section until I found the thread. When I tried to make a post, everything was back to normal and I was able to make the post without changes in formatting.
    “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness..." - Mark Twain

    Diapers and Politicians need to be changed often... Usually for the same reason.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    E TN, near Knoxville
    Posts
    5,899
    When you get those character codes instead of quotation marks it seems to be an artifact of accessing SMC with https instead of http. Going go another website can do this for you. I just tried a forum search for the same thread and when I came back to SMC through Google it did set my access to https. Thanks for that hint - I've been trying to figure out what caused the occasional unwanted switch.

    Https is apparently not supported by SMC. It has caused the precise problems you mentioned. If you run into it again just edit the https in the address bar to delete the "s" then hit Enter.

    BTW, I and some others have had a variety of problems with the Enhanced editor. I switched months ago to the Standard editor and the problems went away. An added benefit is the Standard editor does not play gracefully with https which immediately alerts me that I somehow got an unwanted https in the address bar.

    Here are some notes I made in case anyone is interested. I may add the Google search discovery after a bit of additional testing.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Odd-looking codes for quotation and double quotations may show up in a post when SMC is accessed with "https" instead of "http" with the Enhanced editor

    Look at the address field above the page in the browser.

    If the address bar contains a little padlock and the SMC address starts with "https://..." then take out the "s" to change it to "http://...", hit Enter, then try the Standard Editor again. (The browser considers the "http://" redundant and won't display it in Firefox and Chrome, don't know about other browsers.)

    - The combination of "https" and the Standard editor gave me the unusable grey box every time I tested it.
    - The combination of "https" and the Enhanced editor gave me the painful formatting characters.
    - The combination of "http" and the Enhanced editor gave me other frustrating problems such as randomly jumping cursor on backspace.

    I now make sure I'm using "http://" and the Standard editor. Life is good.

    BTW, to change from the Enhanced to the Standard editor
    - click Settings at the top right of the screen, then General Settings in the bar at the left,
    - scroll down to Miscellaneous Options/Message Editor Interface and choose Standard,
    - click on Save Changes

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    JKJ

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Punta Gorda, FL
    Posts
    2,080
    Thanks, John! Strange how something so minor can affect so much.
    “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness..." - Mark Twain

    Diapers and Politicians need to be changed often... Usually for the same reason.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hayes, Virginia
    Posts
    12,743
    The Creek now supports https which is the preferred way to access our forums now. Aaron told me recently that this will cure a multitude of ills.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Doylestown, PA
    Posts
    5,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Outten View Post
    The Creek now supports https which is the preferred way to access our forums now. Aaron told me recently that this will cure a multitude of ills.
    Something seems to have fixed the &quot problem for me. I'm also using Firefox 57 which is controversial but I'm not a heavy add-ons user so no problem here.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Curt Harms View Post
    Something seems to have fixed the " problem for me. I'm also using Firefox 57 which is controversial but I'm not a heavy add-ons user so no problem here.
    I've been using Firefox 57 for a while with add ons and no problems.. Why is it controversial?
    Lee Schierer
    USNA- '71
    Captain USN(Ret)

    My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Contribute

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    E TN, near Knoxville
    Posts
    5,899
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Schierer View Post
    I've been using Firefox 57 for a while with add ons and no problems.. Why is it controversial?
    I'm using it here too. I don't like a lot of things about it, but some of it might be 'cause I'm elderly and set in my ways. Some of it just seems dumb to me. I want more built-in UI customization, not less. I also dislike the look of some of the updated toolbar icons.

    One thing that may be controversial is the new version killed some of the addons that people have been using. I suspect new versions of some of these will be written but I understand some of the important calls to core routines have been eliminated which may make some add-ons difficult or impossible to update. Some might wonder if this is at least a show of muscle and control by the FireFox people.

    JKJ

  9. #9
    The only thing I noticed is that flash player didn't initially work for you tube videos, It came up with some error message about html5, but double clicking on them seems to have solved the problem.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA- '71
    Captain USN(Ret)

    My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Contribute

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SE PA - Central Bucks County
    Posts
    45,398
    At first, the HTTPS worked fine for me, but today, I'm getting the wonky tagging rather than the characters I typed for quotes, etc. So I've gone back to the less-secure, but actually working HTTP setup.
    --

    The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Doylestown, PA
    Posts
    5,552
    One thing that may be controversial is the new version killed some of the addons that people have been using. I suspect new versions of some of these will be written but I understand some of the important calls to core routines have been eliminated which may make some add-ons difficult or impossible to update. Some might wonder if this is at least a show of muscle and control by the FireFox people.
    I'm not knowledgeable about the 'nuts and bolts' of software but I think a reason for Firefox to move away from XUL is that it gave extension developers too much access to the "innards" of the program. A poorly designed or malicious add-on could do too much damage. It's also easier for extension developers to port extensions between Firefox & Chrome. For those who liked Firefox the way it was, there's Pale Moon and Waterfox. Both offshoots aim to keep Firefox on the course it was on. Some Windows users say Firefox 57 is quite a bit faster, I never found Firefox to be slow so I don't see any significant difference.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •