Thread: New laser issues with Cermark possibly too hot?

New laser issues with Cermark possibly too hot?

Ok, so here is a new one. While I'm still a newbie (right around 1,000 items marked), I have yet to experience this. So pretty simple cermark on stainless Rtic cups. I have completed many with little to no issues. This time, you can see from the pictures, that the cermark area is simply flaking off. Each cup was set with different settings and dpi with similar results.
    I prep the cups with DA
    I use the Cermark can spray LMM-6000
    I'm using an Epilog Legend 36xt 60 watt
    Settings are 100 pwr 20-35 speed (same settings I've used for nearly all of my marking of stainless
    600dpi

Of note, I did have one wood project last week that was burning much darker than I'm used to. Even when dropping the power considerably and increasing the speed. I chalked it up to the type of wood and the stain. However, it certainly seemed to be "hot" and more flame than I've ever seen.

I'm usually fighting what seems to be a loss of power, but now ?

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. image2.jpgimage1.jpgimage3.jpgimage4.jpgimage5.jpg

My Cermark ends up white-ish all the time, but it's black once I wash off all the excess--

But yours looks like it's crusting and popping off. Cermark from a can, it may be you're mix is coming out too rich...

The other day I punctured a half full can of Cermark I've had for probably 3 years, I was at risk of running out of my normal batch over the weekend.. After the pressure bled out I hacksawed the top of the can off, and poured the contents into an empty 500gm bottle. I was able to more than double the amount with DNA, and it's still plenty thick enough to brush, and it works great! (it's the old formula, still like it much better than the new). Anyway, could be your Cermark. Also, wash them off and lets see them!