Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Epilog Mini Question

Epilog Mini Question

Hi Sawmill Creek Community,

I am a first time poster looking for some advice or guidance. I am interested in buying my first laser cutter and have been in contact with someone locally who is selling their Epilog Mini 24 (30 watt). I’ve visited and seen it in action - cut and engrave some specific designs of mine. It looks in great working order and well cared for.

From what I know: it is about 4 years old, I would be the third owner, and its seen only light usage over the past 2 years as a hobby machine working primarily with wood and paper. The original owner utilized it for custom sign making. Its only known repair is a laser tube/cartridge recharge by the first owner. The asking price is $8500 and includes an air compressor and exhaust blower.

I’m new to the market, so I am not very accustomed to gauging prices on used machines. Thus, my main question: is this a fair price and do I have room to negotiate?

If I was looking at this machine, I would get the serial number and call Epilog to ask them to confirm the production time based on the serial number. I would want to know more about this machine and why it had a tube recharge in less than four years (if it really is just four years old). At four years old, if the current owner has had it for two years and the tube was recharged by the original owner who thus owned it for two years or less, then that repair should have been done under warranty and Epilog should have a record of that.

I would not be surprised if you found out the age of the machine is different. If the unit turns out to be much older than claimed, you could try to use that and the fact the history would now be a bit unknown to bargain down on the price. Epilogs retain their value pretty well though.
    Last edited by Doug Fisher; 07-06-2017 at 10:11 AM.
    700mm x 500mm Ke Hui KH-7050 Laser
    80W EFR F2
    S&A CW5000 chiller
    Chuck style of rotary attachment