Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 50 dollar DJ-15/ REALLY RUSTY

Unhappy 50 dollar DJ-15/ REALLY RUSTY

Hello all! I am new to this forum, but a frequent visitor of lumberjocks, and want to get as much help as possible.

I recently purchased a DJ-15 for $50 of an old woodworker trying to get rid of it. It was sitting in his front yard, and looks as if it had been for a long while. When i got it home, i found several wasps nest under the infeed bed(still alive)!

Anyway, I am a beginning woodworker and would love to get this up and running (it's my first jointer) and nice and clean. (already converted to 115 v)

So far, I have run the motor and the cutter head, and they run rather quite, so I am not concerned about bearings.

My main concern is the rust and pitting on the ways, fence, and the cabinet.
    Scotch brite pads aren't working very well, as most of this rust is pretty deep. I've used wd-40, goo gone, bar keepers friend, all with scotch brite pads or razors.
    I want a nice looking tool, a lot of the top is black and its difficult to tell the rust apart from the carbon(?).
    I saw DjFalkners post on restoring his dj-15, and i want to wet sand mine as well, but i am afraid of throwing the ways out of square.

What should I do?
    Below are several pics of my progress.

Before any work:
    DJ-15Before.jpg
    Serial&model.jpg
    Dj-cabinet b4.jpg
    Dj-15during.jpg
    Dj bed b4.jpg

After scrubbing (and removing old masking tape from fence)
    IMG_0326.jpg
    IMG_0327.jpg
    IMG_0328.jpg

Here are the rest of the after pics:
    IMG_0330.jpgIMG_0331.jpgIMG_0332.jpg